I asked my whatsapp friends what readily comes to their mind when they hear the word- opportunity. 

– A bird, either I catch it or it goes away forever

– An avenue for improvement 

– Result, possibility and privilege 

– An action should follow opportunity which either be positive or negative and can make or mar a person. 

I appreciate all my commentators, may God give you wisdom to recognize opportunities and maximize them… Amen. 

How have you been? How’s May treating you? For me, it’s be fabulous and filled with thanksgiving. 

Back to the topic, do read the first post before proceeding. 

Merriam Webster dictionary defined opportunity as a good chance for advancement or progress while Oxford dictionary defined it as a time or set of circumstances that makes it possible to do something.

We are presented with several opportunities on daily basis whether we recognize them or not. 

factors some people think is all that’s needed to be successful in life:

1. Strength 

2. Being swift 

3. Skills 

4. Being smart 

5. Wisdom and understanding or being educated and scholarly. 

But unfortunately they don’t always produce the needed result. The reasons are highlighted in Ecc 9:11 

I returned, and saw under the sun, that the race [is] not to the swift, nor the battle to the strong, neither yet bread to the wise, nor yet riches to men of understanding, nor yet favour to men of skill; but time and chance happeneth to them all.

Thankfully one of my whatsapp friend referred to opportunity as chance and in some translations of the Bible, chance is referred as opportunity; sometimes it means an occurrence one can’t control and the way we respond to this occurrence determines how things turn out for us. 

Opportunity can present in the form of :

1. Choas – When things are throw out of their normal order; everything seems to be disorganized around us. 

Pastor Funke Adejumo said in a couple of her messages that if you want her glory but don’t want her story then you’re a witch. 

Another school of thought says- don’t trust a man without a scar.

Most of the readers of my blog are aware of the issues I had with my dad. At first, when I was much younger,  I thought there was something I was doing wrong so I was motivated to seek knowledge on how to straighten things out. 

The chaos gave me reasons to take psychology classes seriously in school, made me study temperaments, love languages, how to win friends and influence people and so on. Probably if I hadn’t gone through what I went through I wouldn’t have embarked on the knowledge quest that has helped me,   I wouldn’t have learnt how to pray for those suffering from any form of abuse with so much passion because I wouldn’t have understood what it feels like, I wouldn’t know  first hand what depression means, symptoms and ways of dealing with it and I’ll probably would be unable to use my story as an example now. 

– That choas might simply be an opportunity to become a better You or fulfill God’s plan and purpose for life. Afford you life lessons to impart your generation and generations long after you’re gone. It might present a scar people will come to trust you for. 

The storm presented Peter with an opportunity to walk on water. 

2. Challenges – severely tested to produce result; stretches

It can come in form of standing alone for what’s right or joining the crowd to do what’s wrong. Choosing to receive bribery or rendering assistance for free. 

Great men and women faced their challenges. Most of us would like to be as a great as Nelson Mandela but how many of us are willing to spend 27 years in prison? 

I’m sure I and all my name sakes wouldn’t have been named Esther if she hadn’t face head-on the opportunity in the challenge before her. 

3. Calling – we should recognize one’s calling at an appointed season. 

Pastor Funke Adejumo said, A Corpse is a human been while a human being is a person undergoing process. 

Learn to appreciate each process. Strive to learn from your mistakes, celebrate yourself for each success irrespective of what other think or how small. 

A song writer says- brighten the corner where you are,  someone far from harbor you may guide across the bar… 

* The opportunity of a lifetime must be seized within the lifetime of that opportunity. 

Leonard Ravenhill 

Since we can’t  discern what the future of people surrounding us are, we sometimes sow seeds of opportunity in the way we treat them to reap the fruit in the future. Mind you, opportunity is not usually wrapped the way we expect. 
After all, the Bible tells us in Ecc11:1 to

Cast thy bread upon the waters: for thou shalt find it after many days. 

Do not be weary in well doing. 

Remember the story of Joseph and his fellow prison who presented his CV to Potiphar, what would have happened if Joseph had treated him cruelly, wasn’t concerned about his countenance or had chosen not to assist him with his God given gift to interpret his dream? Your guess is as good as mine. 
Let Helen Keller advise us, if you don’t know why she is qualified to click here 

When one door of happiness closes, another opens; but often we look so long at the closed door that we do not see the one which has been opened for us.

Since you dare not minus God from the equation of maximizing opportunity to equal success. 

– Recognize God sovereignty over every opportunity.

– Be open to any lesson God wants you to learn; halt the train of “if only”, call off the pity-party and make your self open. 

– Allow God use that choas, challenge and calling for his glory. 

This is one of my recently adopted prayers and I’ll like you to adopt it too. 

Open my eyes dear Lord to recognize each opportunity that comes my way and do the needful to maximize it to your own glory. Amen

Feel free to share this post and enlighten me on what I might have missed. God bless you! 

