image

I remember visiting an older cousin and she told me she didn’t think I would finish studying nursing successfully. Her reason was my introverted temperament. When I didn’t reply, she repeated her statement.
I remembered her statement when I concluded nursing and then again when I became an ophthalmic nurse.
Hmmm… I remembered how my dad verbally abused me in such a way that I suffered depression while I was still a teenager and relapsed over and over again as I grew older, so bad that I contemplated suicide as a teen.
It was exposure to psychology that made realized what had happened and still happens and took conscious steps to start working on it.

So I was meditating on word for today this morning and it inspired this post.

Wikipedia described verbal abuse as a negative defining statement told to the victim or about the victim, or by withholding any response, thereby defining the target as non-existent. If the abuser does not immediately apologize and retract the defining statement, the relationship may be a verbally abusive one.

It is also known as also known as reviling or (” verbal bullying”)
After exposure to verbal abuse, victims may develop clinical depression and/or post-traumatic stress disorder.

image

Despite being the most common form of abuse, verbal abuse is generally not taken as seriously as other types because there is no visible proof, and the abuser may have a “perfect” personality around others. In reality, however, verbal abuse can be as detrimental to a person’s health as physical abuse. If a person is verbally abused from childhood on, he or she may develop psychological disorders that plague them into and throughout adulthood.

It includes:
*.abusive anger
*.accusing and blaming
*.blocking and diverting
*.chronic forgetting
*.countering
*.damnation
*.denial of anger or abuse
*.judging and criticizing
*.minimization, discounting,trivializing
*.name calling
*.ordering
*.undermining
*.threatening
*.withholding
*.also age discrimination can be considered a form of verbal abuse.

An unknown Author stated that:

A careless word may kindle strife;
A cruel word may wreck a life;
A bitter word may hate instill;
A brutal word may smite and kill;
A gracious word may smooth the way;
A joyous word may light the day;
A timely word may lessen stress;
A loving word may heal and bless.

I had to memorized and pray in the scriptures below and I hope you could do same,

I said to myself, “I will watch what I do and not sin in what I say. I will hold my tongue when the ungodly are around me.”
Psalms 39:1 NLT

The Sovereign Lord has given me his words of wisdom, so that I know how to comfort the weary. Morning by morning he wakens me and opens my understanding to his will.
Isaiah 50:4 NLT

I pray that God will fill our mouth with his words of wisdom and that he would renew our minds, Amen.

