image

A couple of years back, I had inquiries to make at the nursing and midwifery council in Yaba, Lagos state. I remember vividly the woman to attend to me was  munching bitter Kola and of course, I got inquisitive. Her reason was that she had consumed lot of sugar-containing stuff the day before and eating bitter kola acts as a neutralizer.

Few years back, I was in a bus en route to Lagos from Abia state, I sat beside a lady who crunched bitter kola delightfully and I became a cat once more, lol. She told me it helped her with motion/traveller’s sickness. One of these days, I’ll talk about that extensively.

For me, it help me relief constipation, prevent respiratory tract -related allergies, I’m not really a fan of sweeties but I indulge myself in BC when I feel like I’ve had more than necessary. Besides I love to take it alongside my favorite meal-African salad.
Lest I forget, it makes me hungry after consumption, invariably it aids digestion for me.

*puts on dark glasses and in baritone voice * What’s your bitter kola experience or story? Hehehe, do indulge me via the comment box .

Medical experts at  Obafemi Awolowo University Teaching Hospital, OAUTH, in a study published in the Journal of Orthopaedic Surgery and Research, said that bitter kola has a significant analgesic/anti-inflammatory effects in knee osteoarthritis patients.

Another study on bitterkola published recently in Science Journal of Microbiology showed that seed and leaf of bitter kola have antibacterial activity on clinical isolates of Staphylococcus aureus, Escherichia coli, Salmonella typhi and Streptococcus pyogenes. Bitter kola has been shown to be a popular treatment for diarrhea and fever. The seed extract is antiseptic and is active mostly against gram-positive bacteria, while the leaf, is active mostly against gram-negative bacteria. It is also very efficacious for hepatitis.

The stem, bark and the seeds are used for acute fever, inflammation of the respiratory tract and throat infections. The seeds are also chewed to relieve hoarseness of voice, sore throat and cough.

Also effective against diabetes and tuberculosis.

Some medical experts in Lagos have said that regular intake of bitter kola has little or no side effect on human health.

The ball now lies in your court, do you want to keep crunching in spite of its bitter taste or not especially after all we took this celebration period?

