HAVE YOU COUNTED THE COST?

Hymns speak to me in a deeper and soul searching way than  present day Gospel music sometimes.
I suppose you might nod if there is a period for congregational hymn in your church.
For this hymn  below, I try to find out the situation surrounding its  birth, I didn’t get much though.
This I will say- read every word  meditatively, sing it if you can.

Have you counted the cost?
There’s a line that is drawn by rejecting our Lord
Where the call of His Spirit is lost
And you hurry along with the pleasure-mad throng
Have you counted, have you counted the cost?

You may barter your hope of eternity’s morn
For a moment of joy at the most
For the glitter of sin and the things it will win
Have you counted, have you counted the cost?

Have you counted the cost if your soul should be lost
Tho’ you gain the whole world for your own?
Even now it may be
that the line you have crossed
Have you counted, have you counted the cost?

While the door of His mercy is open to you
Ere the depth of His love you exhaust
Won’t you come and be healed, won’t you whisper, I yield
I have counted, I have counted the cost.

image

Have you counted the cost if your soul should be lost
Tho’ you gain the whole world for your own?
Even now it may be
that the line you have crossed
Have you counted, have you counted the cost?

Count the cost, is it really worth your soul? Is it okay to keep nailing Christ to the cross every now and then?
*God help us to pattern our lives after Him no matter what the temptation or persecution maybe and also teach us to guard our faith. Amen.*
Please if you know a link through which I could download hymns, please help me out. Thanks.

2 comments

  1. I looooove hymns too. I think they are so deep as most of them were inspired by the Holy Spirit. I know this hymn cos we sing it often in my church, it sums up our journey on earth as pilgrims. Nothing, absolutely nothing is worth losing one’s soul for. May God help us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

