G T G -5

5
‘I’m calling from Surulere. How’re you? ‘
‘Cool… cool, which game would you like
to play? ‘
‘The game with the eleventh
commandment. ‘
‘You know the rules of the game? ‘
‘Yes.’
‘Okay …sixty seconds start right now,
what do you think of government banning
street …?’
The ringing of the phone made Katherine
sigh because the HC had to reduce the
volume of the radio disrupting her best
game show on radio.
‘Hello …good afternoon …oga wetin I do,
you de vex with me …sorry sir …hein …
hein …she de …okay, okay …I don hear.’
She dropped the phone on her lap. ‘ She
directed her gaze to Katherine. ‘You no
clean the Oga account office well well? ‘
Katherine twitched her lips knowingly.
‘Ma, you know me now, for the past
seven months, you know as I de take do
my work. ‘
‘I know, I supervise your portion but the
man de vex wela. ‘
‘No be me clean the office finish, go help
the girls for cafeteria.’ She stood and
went to the store.
She took all what she needed and head
out.
‘My pickin,’ The head cleaner called when
she was at the door. ‘Take am easy with
am, no argue with am, na so he de do.’
‘Yes ma.’ She said acknowledging the
motherly advice. God please aid me, she
muttered as she felt the scorch of the
sun.
She hurried to the main building and then
the elevator.
If he wanted her to clean his office again,
she will do just that -she resolved.
+++
*-*
The secretary had not been on seat when
she passed, just for her to get to the
director office and the door was ajar.
She hesitated at the door before she
shrugged, knocked, waited for response
and there was none, she took a couple of
steps in.
A frown etched her face when she noticed
he wasn’t on seat, probably he was using
the comfort room, She took more steps
in deciding to wait .
As if on cue, the door slammed shut and
a hand came over her mouth and the
other around her stomach.
While she tried to recover from the
shock, the whisper came.
‘You think you’re smart. Remember, you
did this to yourself, I get what I want,
always do. You will get down with me on
this office floor. ‘
Not in this lifetime, she told herself since
he had sealed her mouth with his palm.
As she struggled to free herself, she
remembered defense. The sweeping
brush she had come in with had fallen
when she was grabbed, so also the some
of the content of the mopping bucket
because she had felt splash.
She tried to bend but couldn’t.
Patrick tried to turn her to face him
within his grip but couldn’t and did not
want to release her because she had
proven to be a wild cat.
Katherine pinched a mould of flesh
around his abdomen and elbowed him at
intervals trying to inflict pain but he was
as head strong as she was.
They lurched around the office, both
sweating in the well conditioned room.
Don’t Let go of her, remember you swore
to teach her a lesson, this is an
opportunity to tame her, don’t make a
fool of yourself by letting her escape.
Remember is only a woman not different
from the ones you’ve dealt with in time
past. She will get weak eventually for she
is the weaker vessel. Patrick smirked
having encouraged himself thoughtfully
‘Oh what a pity! Such a sweet girl yet so
stubborn. I am happy to tell you I have
the perfect treatment. ‘ He cooed
breathlessly.
Katherine tried to remove his hands from
her mouth, but it just stayed like it was
super glued.
If you don’t help me this time, then I
have every reason to end it all. She
prayed, more of challenged as her vision
blurred. She hadn’t eaten any meal for
the day and it was almost noon.
Just then, the door opened. ‘What in the
world! ‘
Impulsively, Patrick pushed her away.
She collided with one of the vinyl chairs
and almost tumbled over. She got to her
feet, picked the airfreshner from the floor
and sprayed it on Patrick face who tried
to block the spray.
‘You …want to sleep with everything in
skirt, I am sure …they will jump all over
you now! ‘ It finished and she threw it at
him. ‘God reward you! ‘
She bent to pick three of the buttons of
her overall that had fell off in the
struggle.
‘Mr Sunday, what is going on here? ‘ The
voice demanded.
He shivered slightly, lowered his gaze but
his mouth remained shut, knowing that
even if he came up with a good
explanation, the shakiness of his voice
may betray him.
It was then, she looked at who her
saviour was. He was black American!
He looked from Patrick to the lady with
so much expression of her anger even
after an assault he knew would happened
if he hadn’t come when he did.
‘Are you hurt Miss? ‘
‘Emmmm …I’m fine.’ She picked what she
had come with.
‘Are you sure? ‘ He asked with eyes not
leaving her.
‘I am fine.’ She said in spite of herself but
she hoped it was assuring enough.
She made to leave but he didn’t step
aside.
‘See me in my office. ‘ He told her with a
note of finality.
Did she nod, she wasn’t sure herself but
he left the door for outside. Which office?
was the question she wanted to ask but
she couldn’t find her voice.
She followed to see Where he was
heading but he strolled down the corridor
to enter the large office that was shared
by other accountants in the organization.
She head for the elevator and almost sat
on the floor but her thought prevailed
against the weakness she felt .
Who else could have made Patrick
tremble, could this be the Director
General and heir of Sigismund
International company? She exhaled
She felt pain on her lap and massaged
it…The elevator opened and she stepped
out.
She decided to ask the head cleaner.
+++
*-*
Yerima Yekini entered the anteroom and
sighting his mother, He hurried to her.””
‘Mummy …what happened? I couldn’t
make out anything from what you told me
over the phone. ‘ He said towering her.
Aisha was seated, both palms under her
chin, her eyes were sore from much
crying.
He removed his sun glasses and placed
them in his bosom pocket before
lowering himself to seat beside her.
‘What is going on, what is happening? ‘
She burst into fresh set of tears.
‘Aw mother .’ He sombered as he drew
her close to him by the shoulders. ‘Come
on mother, what is happening? Make
sense to me please. ‘
She looked up at his face and her tears
flowed. ‘I hope this make enough sense
to you. Your nephew Prince, is dead and
your father rolled and fell off the stairs
due to shock. Since he was wheeled in, I
haven’t heard anything, I haven’t been
told anything. ‘ She swallowed hard and
her lips quivered. ‘I don’t know if he is
alive or dead. ‘ She covered her mouth.
‘No …no. ‘ He left go of her and stared
into space. ‘No, I spoke to Prince
yesterday, how could he be dead today …
I was suppose to take him out this
weekend. ‘ He shook his head dazed .
‘Where …Where is Tobi and Shaki? ‘
‘They just left to prepare for the burial
ceremony coming up this evening. ‘
‘Burial? Prince dead? No …no mother… ‘
He buried his face in his palm.
‘Don’t hurt me more Yerima …please
don’t. ‘ She look towards the stairs where
the incident had happened and
sighed. ‘Oh God, this is just too much for
a day.’
He buried his face in his palm.
‘Don’t hurt me more Yerima …please
don’t. ‘ She look towards the stairs where
the incident had happened and she
sighed. ‘Oh God, this is just too much for
a day.’
A hand came to rest on his shoulder and
he almost jumped. He had been lost in
thought.
‘Good afternoon Yeri. ‘
Yerima was up on his feet. ‘Hey Bob, you
can explain what is happening to my
world? ‘
They walked away from Aisha.
Bobby Uchenna was Yerima best friend in
college and their friendship ran till date
despite Yeri being a petroleum engineer. ‘
‘I am sorry about everything, I’m deeply
sorry.’ He expressed patting him at the
back.
‘Yeah.’ He exhaled. ‘How about my dad? ‘
‘No going around reality, I will be straight
with you . ‘ He paused momentarily. ‘Dad
is under intensive care, equipments,
tubes and all, his condition is critical. A
cardiologist and a couple of neurologist
are looking him up.’
Yerima went wide eyed. ‘That bad? ‘
‘Yea that bad. ‘ Bob affirmed.
‘Jesus Christ! ‘ He worked his fingers
through his hair as tears welled his eyes.
‘All he need is prayers man.’ Bob finalized
not wanting to reveal anything further.
‘Prayers?’ Yerima almost scoffed. ‘I can’t
even think straight talk more of praying. ‘
‘God is more interested in prayers from
the heart. Just talk to him. I have to go
now.’ He smiled at his friend before
hurrying along.
‘What a way to be placed before the devil
and the deep blue sea.’ He muttered and
wiped his tears.
He pulled his phone to call his elder
sister. He exhaled as his eyes welled
again. What was he going to say to
console her?
He was the third child and only son while
Shakirat was the first child.
+++

*-*
Katherine came into the secretaty office
from the lobby, now dressed in a
multicolored knee length gown, a low
heeled black slippers and of course a
scarf. It was no new thing that her hair
was always covered in spite of various
opinion about her action.
She knew the attraction she got without
the hair talk more of when she freed it.
Hence, her decision remained.
‘Good afternoon. ‘ She greeted the
secretary.
She looked from the typing she had been
doing and a smile formed on her lips.
‘Forgive me I can’t remember your
name.’ She was in her mid twenties.
‘Katherine. ‘ They had met once in the
elevator and Precious had complimented
her on her scarf and that prompted
exchange of pleasantries.
‘Welcome Katherine, what can I do for
you? ‘ The smile remained plastered on
her beautiful face.
‘The boss asked me to see him.’
Katherine returned the smile.
‘Alright. ‘ She shrugged. ‘I will have to call
to him for confirmation before I Let you
in.’
‘Thank you.’ She loved the secretary, she
indeed know the word ‘ethics ‘. Katherine
took in her surroundings while the
secretary was on the phone. ‘Immaculate
and homely were the adjectives that
came to her mind.
‘You can go in Katherine through that
door,’ She gestured. ‘Another lovely scarf
today.’
She chuckled. ‘Thank you.’
Katherine halt at the door nervous but
She took deep breaths, got her
composure before knocking.
‘Come in.’
She opened the door and stepped in, the
sight that met her was beyond her
expectation. To be factual, since she
stepped out of the elevator everything
was beyond her expectation, but this, was
just too much. The interior design,
decoration and furniture was like nothing
she had set eyes on . ‘Woah! ‘ She
muttered, then he saw him studying her
in his Mayline Burgundy Leather High-
Back Swivel Executive Office Chair.
‘Good afternoon Sir. ‘ She lowered her
eyes.
‘I am sure your afternoon was not so
good and since you’ve wished me one, i
will say good rest of the afternoon to
you.’ Kelvin Sigismund smiled revealing a
set a white teeth and dimples on his
face . ‘Do make yourself comfortable. ‘ He
had a face that will make one want to
take a second look and appreciate God for
his creation whether consciously or
unconsciously. He was fair, kept his hair low
and was void of moustache . He stood six
feet and an inch tall with his body
trimmed. First impression of him was that
of a model with a charming aura.
Katherine sat and glanced around. ‘Sir
your office is outstanding by all standard
and I am so overwhelmed that I can’t just
help but say it.’
Was he hearing right or was he
fantasizing, the cleaner in front of him
had spoken when his sister would
describe as Queens English. He was
expecting vanacular like others he had
spoken to and she was bold!
He was determined to listen carefully to
ensure what he was hearing was not a
figment of his imagination. ‘That is a
powerful one liner compliment, thank
you.’
You are welcome or it was pleasure didn’t
seem like a good reply so she just
nodded.
Kelvin smiled, that infectious kind of
smile. ‘We just did what is called
expression, based on that, I will like you
to tell me what is going on between you
and Mr sunday? ‘
‘There is nothing between us. There was
no tete a tete until Monday when he
summoned me into his office. ‘ Katherine
answered and paused for her purpose.
‘I will appreciate it if you give me details.
‘Kelvin urged wanting to know more
about the members of his staff.
‘That was the encouragement she
needed. ‘He initiated pleasantries
between us which is rare. Later he wooed
me with tasty offers. ‘
A brow of his was raised and a smile
more of inquisition graced his face. ‘Come
on be a good narrator and give me
specifics. ‘ He sat back.
Katherine smiled understanding his
expression. She shouldn’t be talking much
in his presence not that she was a talker
but there something homely and
encouraging about him. ‘He said we are
going to spend a night in the hotel,
steady flow of money and a car…’ She
went ahead to narrate everything to him.
He had listened attentively and
thoughtfully. ‘Do you believe the offers
he made? ‘
‘I don’t. ‘
‘Why not? He is capable of providing
them. ‘ It was not business yet he
couldn’t help but satisfy his curiosity.
‘I asked him if all the cleaners had to go
through that. He said some of them,
invariably, this company should have had
a car park extension now .’
Kelvin laughed.
‘I also thought to myself, if he could stoop
to some of the cleaners, that means, he
must have done same to some of the
secretaries. ‘ She shrugged .’That is my
thought anyway. ‘
‘Hmmmm….’ He nodded slowly. A talk
with much wisdom coming from someone
younger than him but he had learnt over
time that it was more blessed to listen
irregardless of the person social status.
‘I hope I did not talk much. ‘ She looked
at him rather shyly.
‘Of course not, I did the asking
remember. ‘ He replied and placed a palm
under his chin.
She continued heartily. ‘I believe in the
institution marriage, I believe in the
Governor and in the spirit surrounding it.
I also believe violators have justice meted
to them.’
‘True.’ He pursed his lips thoughtfully. ‘I
hope you’re alright. ‘
‘A bit shaken but fine.’She smiled. ‘Thank
you sir for saving me.’ She stood.
‘I believe you would have pulled through
without my aid.’ Kelvin said at an
afterthought.
Katherine beamed. ‘Do excuse my exit.’
He nodded and watched her leave. Then
he closed his eyes. ”wasn’t she
remarkable?” He allowed his seat rock as
he tried to remember the passage of the
Scripture to back her claim.
“Marriage is honorable in all and the bed
undefiled; but whoremongers and
adulterers God will judge. ” He quoted
aloud. ”She is good… Damn!’ His eyes
fluttered open.
He hadn’t even ask her name!
+++

Leave a Reply

